Breathe Deep

My heart pounding in my chest,

There’s always something. I can never rest.

I must bring my heart rate down

I put my bare feet on the cold ground

“It’s okay darling. It’s only stress”

 

I overheat. Sweat pours down my face,

An unrecognisable reflection stares back in disgrace.

I don’t know if this is my scarred little heart,

Or anxiety, or fatigue, I can’t tell them apart.

I need fresh air. Please, give me some space.

 

I’ve no control of my eyes, they always weep

I’m exhausted. I never get enough sleep.

I wish I could trade my life for just one chronic-free day,

But this is my life. I must live it my way.

“Just remember to Breathe. Go on, Breathe Deep.”

 

By UnTanglingT

2 thoughts on “Breathe Deep

  1. ‘I must bring my heart rate down

    I put my bare feet on the cold ground’

    These lines epitomize the issues with maintaining a normal body temperature when it comes to anxiety. Just now with seemingly no triggers at all, I had to take myself outside and do some breathing techniques -all because I just started to overheat, sweat etc.

    Great post!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I honestly don’t know if today was the heat, my heart, or anxiety that made me dizzy and sweaty. Other days I am freezing in jumpers while everyone else is in shorts. So frustrating to not be able to regulate temperature because of how much else is affected by it. I’m sorry you have to deal with it too.
      I’m glad you liked the poem, thank you 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

